Trump to Nominate Two for FERC Openings

By: Michael K. Reer

On June 28, 2017, the Trump Administration announced plans to nominate Richard Glick as a commissioner of the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission. Glick currently serves as Democratic general counsel on the Senate Energy and Natural Resources Committee and would replace Democratic Commissioner Colette Honorable. On July 13, 2017, the Trump Administration announced plans to nominate Kevin J. McIntyre as a Republican FERC commissioner. McIntyre serves as an attorney at the law firm Jones Day and would fill a currently vacant commissioner seat. When at capacity, FERC has five commissioners, three of whom may be the same party as the President. President Trump has now nominated four potential FERC commissioners, including three Republicans. If confirmed by the Senate, the four will join Democratic Commissioner Cheryle LaFleur, thus filling all commissioner vacancies. FERC has operated without a quorum of at least three commissioners since February 2017. The agency’s inability to approve major infrastructure projects without a quorum has resulted in a backlog of $14 billion worth of permit applications. On July 26, 2017, Texas Railroad Commissioner Wayne Christian wrote a letter to U.S. Senators Cornyn and Cruz, advocating for the U.S. Senate to confirm the Trump Administration’s nominees.
Wednesday, August 02, 2017

President Trump to Nominate 3, Restore Quorum to FERC

By: Blake C. Billings

On March 9, 2017, the Wall Street Journal reported that President Donald J. Trump will nominate Neil Chatterjee, Kevin McIntyre, and Robert Powelson as commissioners of the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission. The five-commissioner panel has only two sitting commissioners and has been without a quorum, and therefore unable to vote to advance or permit major interstate natural gas pipeline projects, since February 3, 2017. In addition to the three current vacancies, commissioner Colette D. Honorable’s term is set to expire in June.

Chatterjee is an energy policy advisor and liaison to the Senate Committee on Energy and Natural Resources for Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell. McIntyre is an energy attorney and partner in the Washington, DC, office of Jones Day, where he co-heads the firm’s energy practice group. Powelson is a commissioner of the Pennsylvania Public Utility Commission and President of the National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners. The nominees must be confirmed by the United States Senate prior to taking their seats at FERC—a process which could take several months.

Monday, March 13, 2017

Recent Posts



The Oil & Gas Law Blog is made available for educational purposes only and to give you general information as well as a general understanding of the law, not to provide specific legal advice. Use of this blog does not create an attorney-client relationship between you and any of the blog contributors or Harris Finley & Bogle. The Oil & Gas Law Blog should not be used as a substitute for competent legal advice from a licensed professional attorney in your state.